Total views: 1,484   Comment count: 0
Third chakra - self identity and self esteem

Leading on from previous blogs on “The Role of Emotion in Health and Wellbeing”. Lets look at the third chakra more closely:

The Third Chakra also called the Solar Plexus chakra is located in the centre of the body above the navel. This chakra puts order in our lives.  It gives a sense of control over our own lives, whilst also being the seat for decision-making and intuition.  It is the energy centre associated with self esteem and self worth. The identity of the ego.  Do we feel empowered in our jobs and home life?  The third chakra is yellow and it is here that we feel intimidation and fear.  Hence the saying “Yellow Belly”.  When criticized it is usually in the “gut” that we feel discomfort, “knotting” and in extreme cases, even pain.


Total views: 1,004   Comment count: 0

Leading on from my previous blog on “The Role of Emotion in Health and Wellbeing”, lets look at the second chakra more closely:

The Second Chakra is located in the lower abdomen, the Sacral Plexus and is the colour orange.  It represents our ability to feel personal pleasure and pain.  Our reproductive organs are energetically nourished by the second chakra as are the kidneys and bladder.  The second chakra lives in the now and brings us to being personally centred and connected to vital life forces.  The sacral plexus is the centre of creativity, procreation and new ideas. 


Total views: 1,940   Comment count: 0
Root Chakra

After many years of working with people both in the corporate world and as a kinesiologist, I have been fascinated by the role that emotion plays in overall health and well-being.  The Indian system of Ayurveda takes into consideration the Chakra system which runs through our bodies from base to 7th.  There is now a strong belief that chakras go upwards from the body to approximately the 40th chakra.  This means that this is mirrored downwards into the earth to 40 also!  When looking at this approach each one between the first and seventh has corresponding meridian lines, organs and emotions.  What happens if you connect all this information together?  Lets look at this against the First, Root, Earth or Base chakra?